Kid’s in the Kitchen

When I was younger, I remember that we mostly ate everything cooked at home, made from scratch, we hardly had takeaways and when we did, it was like christmas came early.  We grew up not having a lot of money so we saved by eating at home.  It taught us that you can survive on basic ingredients and still have delicious food.  From the age of 13 I began cooking full dinners for the whole family.  My mum returned to work when we were in high school, so my sisters and I shared the cooking.

I have started teaching both my girls now how to cook and help out in the kitchen.  We keep it simple.  I believe knowing how to cook is a life skill, and I want to prepare my girls so that one day when they leave home I know that they will be able to feed themselves.

It’s so easy now to live on take aways, which we buy occasionally, it’s not the end of the world if you do!  I am hoping by getting them in the kitchen that over time they form a good relationship with food and have a greater understanding of food in general.

So don’t be afraid to get them in the kitchen, and the best part is the eat what they cook and there are no complaints!

Happy cooking!

4 thoughts on “Kid’s in the Kitchen”

Leave a Reply

