Adding Pet’s to your Family

Christmas is just around the corner and I find that one of the big-ticket items that a lot of kids receive is a pet. This is something that we are always 50/50 about and we um and ahh a lot.  Both my husband and I grew up with pets so I’m not sure why we are so against it now, well not so much against it.  The thing is we research it A LOT, so much so that we eventually get turned off the idea.  But at the back of my mind I’m always thinking are our kids missing out on a great part of childhood?  I know there are lots of benefits with having pets and it can teach us all so much.  Here are my thoughts:

DOGS

dog

In South Africa we had lots of dogs (at different times) and they were the bigger breeds especially German Shepard’s.  Somehow out of 4 siblings I was the one that always ended up taking them for walks, and cleaning up their poo!!  The thing is the 3 houses that we lived in, only one had lots of grass, the other two nothing, which meant when the dog did it’s business, I had to poop scoop that shit up, and then it didn’t end there!  Oh no I then had to put some soap on the area and get out the special broom and scrub it then rinse it all away!  Because of not having grass, cleaning it up this way eliminated the smell and flies!  This may have subconsciously scarred me for life.  Now I just think the bigger the dog the bigger the size of poo, that will need picking up!!  But on the flip side, dogs are such loyal, loving friends, that love spending time with their owners.  I know the kids can have endless hours of fun with a dog.

CATS

cats

Out of cat’s and dog’s I have to say cat’s are my favourite, however, growing up we never had one.  I used to feed the stray cats that used to visit our house, that was as close to having a cat that I had.  The only thing about having a cat I’m not keen about is the lovely gifts that they bring their owners, like birds and rats, I would literally crap myself. Also cat’s seem to get injured a lot from fights with other cats and I’m not so good with handling that.  Both my daughter and husband are really allergic to cat’s unless we got the cat’s which are specific for allergy sufferers like:

  • Siberian (Less of the Fel d 1 protein)
  • Balinese (Less of the Fel d 1 protein)
  • Bengal.
  • Burmese.
  • Colorpoint Shorthair.
  • Cornish Rex.
  • Devon Rex.
  • Javanese.

These cat’s are well over the $1000 mark!  So….mmmm…will have to keep thinking about that.  Cat’s are playful and so much fun, but they can be temperamental and have a bit of an attitude! However they are much more low maintenance than dogs!

I know there are lot’s of other options like fish but that’s a lot of work after speaking to the pet shop.  Maybe a bunny is the go, but I’ve never had one, but are they social like cat’s and dog’s?  Would the girls be able to play with them?  I suppose with rabbits you just have to make sure if you get a pair it’s not a boy and a girl or it will be humping galore and lot’s of babies after that…non stop!

We always said, that if we get a pet we will take out pet insurance because I hear all about the cost’s of taking pets to the vet and when they get sick it’s not as cheap as us going to the dr. I wish I could be like other people who just go out and buy a pet without even thinking about it.  Are we thinking about it too much?  People say that having a pet is like having another child, except they don’t talk back to you!

So there you go, that’s my dilemma!

I would love to hear your thoughts on this?  Are you in a similar frame of mind?  How has pets helped your family?

Ronell x

 

9 thoughts on “Adding Pet’s to your Family”

  1. I can’t imagine not having a pet. I’ve had cats & dogs & although I love them both, dogs really resonate with me. I wouldn’t ever have another pedigree as they have too many health issues brought on by inbreeding. Currently have a cross sheepdog/shitzu. He was found tied up at the pound after hours & found his way to our home. He doesn’t bark (unless you have his toy) or shed (still finding remnants of our German shepherd who died years ago). Get yourself to the pound & give a dog a home for Christmas 🎄 🎄🎄🎄🎄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have stick insects and they are incredibly easy to look after. We feed them ivy but I pick long stems of it from over our back fence and then immerse the base of the stem in a vase inside the habitat – this way I’m not having to pick leaves everyday as they stay fresh in water.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s not as bad as you think. Initially it’s scary, but we’ve had a rabbit for 3 years now and we’ve just added a bird to our growing pet collection. You don’t need a pair of rabbits, we have just the one and he seems quite content. They are easy, no walking just cleaning up poo tray everyday. If they are toilet trained that’s easy and most rabbits find a corner to do their business so if you put a poo tray in eventually they get it. Ours does not run through the house. In summer he’s outside in his outdoor hutch and in winter I place him in his portable cage inside at night or in the garage.

    Our budgie is even easier. He is inside and Isabella loves him. I’d say more than she does the rabbit as the bird has more personality than our rabbit. He chirps and sits on her shoulders as she walks around or lounges. She takes him out of his cage and they have time together. It’s very cute and she adores him. As long as you throw a towel over his cage at night he doesn’t make a sound till you remove it in the morning.

    We don’t have any pet insurance. I think it’s worth getting for a cat or dog but for our pets we’ve made a few vet trips but wasn’t that expensive.

    Start with a rabbit if you want, they are easy.
    Isabella is asking for a dog now all year and getting all emotional when we walk past the pet store. I’m getting close to saying yes but I’m still worried about a dog as they do need more attention and care. If I add a dog we’ll just about have our own pet store!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I would love to have a pet that can interact with us all. Rabbits seem very easy and a bird well I have a phobia of birds so not sure if that will work! As I’m home now I know I can look after a pet. I always thought a cat but just not keen if they kill birds etc. at least dogs don’t do that! I could look into a smaller breed of dog. I’ve always loved to have a Labrador

      Like

  4. Haha Ronell 😂😂 I think you should definitely get a pet of some kind…I’ve never had rabbits but my sister has been through a few – make sure you get the right sort as some are not that friendly and can scratch / bite and some are amazing. Personally I prefer not to have any kind of litter tray that needs to be cleaned so cat / dog are easier in my mind. You can train a dog to go in the same place every time so it can make picking up the poo quite easy really. I heard recently that a small-medium dog does about 300kg of poo a year! We have a poo composting gadget which turns it into soil which is great. The girls are the perfect age for a pet !! 🐶🐹🐰🦄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

