The Makeup Hot Seat Q & A Part 2

Continuing on from last week’s Q & A session, today I would like you to meet Asrin, she is a freelance NZ makeup artist based on the North Shore of Auckland.

I have fired off some questions to her and here are the answers!

  1. How did your love of makeup begin?

I was never allowed to wear makeup until I turned 19, and it really is true what they say – the more restricted you are from something the more you want to rebel! I always admired the makeup of the “pretty girls” at school and also my small circle of friends, who were and still are very talented with makeup. I began with threading my eyebrows and wearing mascara, from then on I experimented with more products and looks until I got to the stage where I basically wore a full face of makeup everyday! From here on, I did makeup for many friends and colleagues – so much fun working different looks and different faces!

I say this often, my makeup routine in getting ready is quite seldom more enjoyable than the event I am getting ready for – I guess that says a lot about my love for makeup. However, nothing makes me happier than the reactions and gratitude I get from my clients and quite often their families too – it’s pretty special and keeps me super passionate about my makeup career. 

2. How important is a good skin care routine?  And what is yours?

Makeup takes it toll on the skin, especially with different skin types and sensitivities so the importance of skin care can’t be stressed enough. I like to keep it simple – cleanse, exfoliate, moisturise! 

3. What is your favourite go to makeup product?

This is probably the most difficult question for a makeup addict to answer! The most important features on the face for me are the eyes & eyebrows so my favourite product would have to be Anastasia Beverly Hills brow dip pomade. 

4. Can you share any tips for beginners that are getting into makeup (like myself)?

Number one and up most important – take care of your skin! Never go to bed with makeup on and moisturise at least 1-2 times a day. Don’t try to look like anyone else, find the features of your face that you love and use makeup to enhance them, not change them.

Experiment with cheaper products until you feel confident and comfortable and then try the more expensive products. Makeup is not a cheap hobby! Always start light, you can always add more if you want a more dramatic look but it’s harder to go the other way. 

Keep it simple, don’t let complicated tutorials put you off trying new things but always remember that what suits you best is what you feel most comfortable in. 

5. I’m a busy mum like many others, who are short on time, what’s a quick makeup look that we can throw together?

Everyone is different when it comes to makeup they can’t do without. For some, it’s lipstick, for others it’s concealer. Start of with these products and then depending on how much time you have, add something that compliments it. For example, if you’ve put on a full face of foundation but don’t have time to contour, add a bit of your favourite blush.

My favourite “quick fix” makeup look includes primer, foundation, blush, brow dip, mascara and lipstick. 

6. As each year passes, makeup trends come and go, what trend do you think might stick around for a bit?

Contouring, winged eyeliner & thick eyebrows – no doubt. 

7. What’s your makeup pet peeve?

Getting my winged eyeliner on both eyes to match perfectly!

8. Lastly, what’s your favourite makeup decade?

The 1950’s Marilyn Monroe era – cat eyes, winged eyeliner & red lipstick – absolutely love this look and it will probably never go out of fashion. 

Thank you Asrin x

You can find the link to Asrin’s social media page’s here:

Facebook – Asrin Hussein Makeup Artist

Instagram – @asrin.makeup

Hope you enjoyed this Q & A series!

Ronell x

Leave a Reply

