Tantalise Your Tastebuds at Tok Tok

Okay so I realise there are a lot of t’s in the heading but never mind that, let’s get to the important bit.

I wanted to share with you my experience or review so to speak on my favourite Asian restaurant Tok Tok.  I have eaten here a few times and can never get sick of the food.  Tok Tok is located in the bustling suburb of Takapuna, and you will find that they serve Asian fusion cuisine, particularly South East Asian food.  Upon entering the restaurant you will instantly be transported to what feels like a bustling restaurant in Bali, or Thailand.

img_0247

img_0250

img_0246

The decor inside the restaurant is amazing, from the bamboo lampshades, to the spices and the trinkets around the place.  Every time I have been to this restaurant it was full, so it pays to make a reservation.  Even the cutlery used is so unique.  Good old-fashioned tin cups and tin water canisters.

img_0249

So once you get over the decor and the whole scene, we get to the best part, the food!  Tok Tok restaurant has won ‘Best in Taste’ at Taste of Auckland, and I can see why.  It truly is an explosion of flavour, every single dish is like a party in your mouth.  Like most Asian restaurants the dishes are to be shared.  We usually get a few ‘Small’ dishes to start and then move on to the ‘Big’ dishes.

Both my husband and I were so impressed with the service. Your order is taken at the start, and the food is brought out to you once they are cooked, it just keeps coming.  I have never seen service to this level, they were so friendly and efficient, my goodness they are fast!  You are never left sitting there waiting and wondering where your meals are.  It’s like they have eye’s on everyone at all times, they just know what you need before you even know!

For our small dish we ordered the Salt ‘n Pepper Squid and the Pork & Prawn summer rolls. I have tried almost all of the small dishes from my visit’s to date, and I love Asian food so I was in heaven.  They were so fresh and flavourful, and they surprisingly light, they didn’t feel like heavy dishes which is perfect.

img_0316

img_0317

We didn’t have to wait long for our big dishes.  We ordered the Crispy Hapuka Dry Red Curry and the Shaking Beef.  OMG I died and went to heaven again at this point.  The beef was super tender it was unreal.  The fish was beautiful and delicate.  We also ordered a side of rice and roti.  The rotis are small and really crispy.

img_0257

img_0258

There is a lot of food on the plates so perfect for sharing!  By this stage we were in a bit of a food coma, but somehow we managed to find some space for dessert.  I mean how can you not right!  We had the Bay Leaf Panna Cotta and the Pandan Tapioca.  Oh my goodness, the Panna Cotta is so soft and silky with the unique taste of bay leaf served with caramalised banana and peanut praline.  The Tapioca had so many amazing textures, with caramalised pineapple, lychee and chilli cashew candy.  My husband wants to go back and just have the tapioca!

img_0318

img_0319

We had to do a few laps of walking along Takapuna Beach afterwards to work off the food, but it was so worth it.  I can never tire of this place and there is so much choice on the menu there is something there to suit everyone.

If you have not been to Tok Tok yet, I would suggest you get there pretty quick smart, it truly is a culinary experience.

You can find Tok Tok at Shop 1 – 129 Hurstmere Road, Takapuna.  For more info click on the link here.

Enjoy!

Ronell x

 

2 thoughts on “Tantalise Your Tastebuds at Tok Tok”

Leave a Reply

