The Travelling Scroll Recipe

Okay so first up I cannot take any credit for this recipe. A friend passed on the recipe to me for Cinnamon Scrolls. I’ve just used the same recipe for my savoury scrolls and left out the sugar component. 

She got the recipe of her sister in law, and then passed it onto me, and now I’m sharing it with you, hence the name of the post. Here is the recipe, in my own words. 


Dough Recipe (using a breadmaker)

  • 1 sachet dry yeast or 3 Tsp
  • 1 cup warm milk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter (not too hot)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups plain flour

Method

  • Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees c fan forced or 220 degrees c. 
  • Firstly heat the milk until warm and put in the dry yeast. 
  • Whilst the milk and yeast are doing the tango in the jug put all the other ingredients in the bread maker. 
  • Now pour in the milk and yeast mixture. 
  • Set your machine to the basic dough function and away you go. 
  • In my machine this takes about 2 1/2 hours. 
  • Once done roll out onto a floured surface in a rectangular shape. It will be a bit broad which is what you want. 
  • Spread the cheese over the dough and top with ham. 
  • Then it’s time to roll. Make sure you are rolling it from the longer side away from you. 
  • Once rolled, cut into slices and place cut side down. 
  • Bake for about 15 mins or until golden. 

So that’s how I made the scrolls. The dough was perfect and the scrolls turned out amazing. It will sure be a winner in the kids lunch boxes. 

Below is a photo of the recipe that was sent to me for cinnamon scrolls as reference if you need. 


I hope you enjoy this recipe and don’t forget to share the scroll love and pass it on. 

Ronell x

Leave a Reply

